It is mentioned already in the year 818 with the name of plebana, when the building was built in Romanesque style and was oriented in the opposite direction from the current building. The plan of the current building has three naves, the bell tower has a Romanesque base to which two floors in Baroque style and an octagonal lantern were later added. During the twentieth century the building was radically renovated, with the elimination of two side chapels and the execution of some frescoes by Ernesto Rusca.

On September 7, 1888 with the papal bull Ad universam, Pope Leo XIII established the diocese of Lugano and elevated the collegiate church to the rank of cathedral. Since 1971 it has been a bishopric.



The Episcopal Curia of Lugano relies on Elettrosystem for the construction of the new lighting system of the Cathedral.

So, after Montecarlo, another very important reality, he decides to take advantage of our ability and experience in the lighting field.

Even in this wonderful Cathedral, Elettrosystem has managed to create much more than just a lighting system, but through the light, a strong emotion for all visitors and faithful who enter every day to visit or pray.

A total lighting renovation, combined with the complete restoration of the monument, give back to the City of Lugano a heritage of inestimable value.